Let’s Have Coffee

Hi there, whoever you are. This post is inspired by this girl, and her “virtual coffee date” posts. I love them. They are fun to read, and make you feel cozy; kind of like a favorite book (is that weird?). So, without further ado, go pour yourself a cup of coffee (or tea, if that’s your deal) and sit with me. Got your coffee (or tea, wine, energy drink, water, whatever)? Good. I have a few things I need to tell you, like;

I actually took a picture for this post. Of my coffee in front of the computer. Creative, yes? But then I tried to upload it onto my husband’s computer (that we all use), and I couldn’t. I searched for the cord. After trying two, and of course the right one was the one I used last, I realized that something wasn’t working. Probably my lack of a technology brain. So, sorry, no picture of my coffee. Also, I couldn’t get the Playstation remote to charge on Monday, which meant I couldn’t watch Downton Abbey. So, yeah. Win one for technology.

I want you to know that some days I feel like I have this Motherhood Shit firgured the fuck out. And some days? Holy geez, some days I get all up in my head, and by the end of the day I’m all; “OH MY GEEZ, WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING? WHY DID THEY LET ME OUT OF THE HOSPITAL WITH THIS BABY? SOMEONE WAS SERIOUSLY NOT PAYING ATTENTION TEN MONTHS AGO! I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT I’M DOING.” Today is one of those days. Yesterday I had my shit together. Today; nope, not at all. What am I so worried about? Naptime; when do we switch to one nap a day? And can we avoid that? I rather enjoy nap time these days. Another worry? Weaning. We’ve moved down to three nursing sessions a day, but is that okay? And is she getting enough food? It was so easy when all she needed was the boob. And when I knew that half her food wasn’t ending up in the dog’s mouth. Any advice?

You should know that, the reason for the naptime questioning is that yesterday she napped for almost three hours during her morning nap. When I put her down for an afternoon nap SHE WAS NOT FREAKING AMUSED. She did not sleep. Eventually, I took her out of her crib, got in our bed, and after some fighting it, she took a thirty minute snooze on me. It was so sweet because she never sleeps with me anymore. So. Freaking. Sweet. Plus; I got a nap too- EVEN SWEETER.

Oh, right, that’s why we never nap together. And why we don’t co-sleep.

The third thing we need to talk about? The fact that I am so confused about Rose’s first birthday. I am actually having a mild anxiety attack about it at the moment. Living in this Pinterest world as we do, I see so much crazy stuff that mothers do for their children’s first (and second, third, fourth, etc.) birthdays. I totally make fun of it. Like, all the time. My sister-in-law and I laugh about it on a daily basis (practically). And yet… I really, really, really want her to have a picture perfect first birthday. Because doesn’t she deserve it? And don’t I? And, I mean my mom always had adorable birthday parties for us… don’t I owe it to her to make a perfect party for her only grandchild? The only problem (besides the fact that every free moment from now until March 2 will be spent on this party) is that I am notoriously non-crafty. In my family, we all have our thing that is a source of ridicule. Mine is all the craft projects that I started, only to give up in complete frustration partway through (yes, family, I know, I remember the cross-stitch candle incident). Or I would get bored with said project, and abandon it for a much more enticing endeavor, usually reading a book. So, my lack of craftiness will be a problem. I mean, should I even bother?

             

Sorry. I couldn’t stop at just one. I have issues.

One more thing. And this is really, really a  serious issue. I can’t wash our sheets because the dog is always on/ in our bed. And she looks so comfortable, and I just can’t move her. I’m not that mean dog owner. No, I’m the dog owner that lets the dog have the run of the house. Dog Whisperer, Shmog Whisperer. Whatever. That wasn’t even funny.

Yep. We let this happen. Every. Single. Night. This is the real reason we can’t co-sleep.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Have Coffee

  1. Cassidy, please don’t stress so much about Rose’s first birthday. It will be wonderful I promise. Anytime we can get the family together it turns into a great party. There was one minute at Christine’s baby shower when the conversation went quiet – and I started to get nervous thinking “oh no my party is boring!” then Joyce came to my rescue and turned a typical “guess the m&m’s in a jar ” into a very fun – and always very competitive game. It also helped that my brilliant and creative daughter in law saved me with adorable take home favors – and cute decorations. It also helped that roxann jumped in to help with set up and placement of decorations – a truly joint project!! Christine has one of the decorations on display in Wyatt’s bedroom. Also when it was time for Owens birthday Rachel again turned a circus themed party with hot dogs and sliders and popcorn into a spectacular party – no pinterest involved. And she did it on a budget making the cakes and making sure to always have a hobby lobby 40% off coupon handy!!! I’m sure that sweet baby Rose will have a wonderful first birthday too! Just remember that if there is anything I can do to help – or any other aunties or cousins be sure to let us help!

  2. I will send you my bottle of pixie dust. It’s around here somewhere. (Hmmm, where did I store it after Charles’ last party?) Sprinkle liberally – all children will be enchanted and have precious memories. Just as you do….

    P.S. It is not available on Pinterest or Amazon. Do not bother looking there.

Leave a Reply

