My Weekend

*Update: Just to prove that I have “Monday brain” I forgot to title this post. Doh. I have now given it the most creative title I could muster. You’re most welcome. 

Good morning. I hope you all had a great weekend. I know I did. It was lazy, and we didn’t do much, so basically, it was perfect. And now. Now it is Monday. And here is how I feel about that:

Also, this:

So, what did we do this weekend? Well, if you’re a college student, or you know, anyone that doesn’t have kids, I suggest you stop reading, because you will be bored out of your skull. If you’re a Mommy or someone like me (even before I had a baby and husband), then read on:

Friday: I got a text from the husband asking if I wanted to go to Costco after he got home from work. You have to understand that going to Costco, for us, is the equivalent of  going bar hopping (is that even a thing?) on a Friday night. We freaking love Costco. It is so much fun. You never know what you’re going to find. Pretty soon I am sure that we will all be outfitted from head to toe in clothes bought at Costco, eating hundred packs of string cheese, while putting away our economy size toilet paper. Also, awesome about Costco? THE SAMPLES. But you already knew that. The best thing ever is that our Costco has gelato at the food bar. I had never seen this before at any other Costco, so my dance that I did the first time I saw this was completely justified. Anyway… we went to Costco, but only bought 36 eggs (which will be gone by this Friday; we’ve already eaten 18), spinach, potatoes, avocados, and I think that’s it? But I’m not really sure. No impulse buys. Two weeks ago we had a major impulse buy of my new camera (yes, honey, it is mine… right?), so we were trying to keep the impulse buys to a minimum. After Costco we went to Vietnamese food to get pho, because in our family pho is the cure for all. Seriously, for everything. And, since Rose was sick we had to go, right? Right.

We’re like this, except with pho.

So, yeah. That was our Friday. It was awesome.

Saturday: Rose and I actually didn’t go anywhere on Saturday. The husband went to Wal Mart and Costco, after making us breakfast. He unclogged our upstairs bath (seriously, that was probably the highlight of my weekend- that thing was driving me cray cray). Rose and I stayed home and watched football (go niners!). Oh, oh, oh!! I forgot to mention one of the most exciting things about the weekend; we had Showtime for free (I just googled if there is a ‘w’ in the channel’s name…), which meant that we watched Weeds, Californication, and Dexter all night. Twas awesome.

Sunday: Rose slept past seven (yesssss!), and I woke up all confused. I was convinced it was Monday. Once I realized it was still the weekend I was so excited I started doing shots. Okay, not really; it was coffee (wouldn’t it be funny if I did, though?). We let the husband sleep in. Rose ate cheerios out of a container while I drank a whole pot of coffee. By the time the husband woke up I was in full on song and dance mode, which, I am sure is what he loves to wake up to. He made us breakfast again (and was even considerate enough to make enough potatoes for breakfast today). I really think Sunday was my favorite day this week. We went to Trader Joe’s (my love, in store form) and Wal Mart (not so much love, but it is useful, I guess). We came home, ate lunch, and Rose went down for a nap. Tim went out to play disc golf, and I went down for a nap as well. Rose napped FOREVER, which meant that I did too. It was AWESOME. We hung out, watched football (no Golden Globes over here… although I may have tried to sneak some in while Tim was doing his fantasy NHL draft), gave Rose dinner, played a bit, and put Rose down to bed. Just in time for my favorite show; Girls. I may have been a little bit abusive to my husband at this point, because in addition to making him watch Girls with me, I told him if he talked that I would punch him in the face. He said one word and I smacked him, just to show I wasn’t kidding. I feel really bad about that. Anyway… We ended the night with the newest episode of Californication, and I had a tortilla with avocado and string cheese for dinner.

And just because it kind of fits with my night (but not really…)

And another Girls reference. Because you can never have too many and Girls was probably the highlight of my whole week. So pathetic.

So… that was our weekend. Now that I’ve written it out, I kinda feel bad for making you read through all of this. Not bad enough that I won’t post it, but bad enough that I feel like I should apologize. The weekend was awesome. The six loads of laundry that are waiting to be folded are not. Sigh. Oh, well, at least I can watch last night’s Downton Abbey (nobody ruin it for me- including those of you that are lucky enough to live in a country that has already aired this season).

3 thoughts on “My Weekend

  1. Our Costco equivalent would be – going to garden centers! Every time the husband asks me if I want to go, I also do the dance of joy! You’d actually think I was being invited to have lunch at The Ritz =) Yes, garden centers make me happy. Yes, I’m boring too =) I bet though, before becoming mothers and married women, we rocked! Though truth to be told, I think I was boring too. Haha.

    • I was so boring before getting married. I didn’t even drink until it was legal (think of all the college parties I missed). I think I became a little more fun since getting married!

      • Admittedly, I did go to some of those college parties. But outgrew it quickly, especially once I started working. Friends had to literally drag and bribe me to go out, when I’d really rather just stay at home =) So yes, I was boring that way. Now my husband and I joke that we are probably the most boring couple in the world. Like I said, our idea of fun is going to garden centers and bookshops. We retire to our beds by 9 with our books (daughter-permitting that is) =)

Leave a Reply

