Independence by Numbers

8- years since I turned 18

7- years since I graduated from high school

2- years since I graduated from college

8- the number of places (houses, apartments, college housing) that I’ve lived in since high school

1- the number of homes that I’ve lived in (since I graduated high school) that is my parents’ house

1- the number of homes that I’ve lived in (since I graduated high school) that is my in-laws’ house

5- the number of college housing (dorms, apartments, etc.) that I have lived in

1- the number of apartments that I have paid the rent for

2- the number of months my daughter was when we moved out of our apartment

4- (almost) months that we have lived in Texas

4- (almost) months that we have lived with my in-laws

6- the number of days until we move into our new townhome!

1- the number of apartments/ townhomes we looked at

3- the number of days I’ve known that we are moving

0- the number of things I have packed

0- the number of couches we own (anyone have nice, free ones???)

0- the number of dressers we own (again, anyone have nice, free ones???)

*** Okay, so, if you’re still with me, we’re moving in six days. As in, LESS THAN A WEEK! I am so excited, but, at the same time, I hate change. Being the weirdo that I am, I feel like we have a pretty good thing going living with my in-laws. I have built in babysitters (hand my father-in-law a baby and both he and the baby are happpppy). I have a drinking buddy (my mother-in-law- and by drinking buddy, I mean we are both one glass of wine and doooooone). I have an extra doggie to hang out with. The benefits of living with family, whether it be my family or my husbands’ are infinite. Yet, I think that we are grownups (laaaaammmmmmeeee), and that to be grownups, we should probably live on our own, and have our own space. I am so excited to move, and am ready for whatever changes this move may bring (at least, I think I am…).

One thought on “Independence by Numbers

  1. Cass- I’m enjoying your blog so much. So nice to read about how you’re doing. It’s been a long time and this has allowed me to catch up a bit. Yay! Enjoy your new place. 🙂 I hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

